For the Love of Jane Austen

pridenprejudiceI was introduced to the world of Jane Austen by my sister.  I read Pride and Prejudice, and like most of its readers, I fell in love with Mr. Darcy.  All these years later, I’ve watched many of the movies, BBC televised mini-series, read some of the spin off books, and even made some regency era costumes.

<—-  This is one of the gowns I made with cream colored satin and lace, and I also made the plum/maroon colored coat that Rob is wearing.

This year, I had made a resolution to do more for my love of Jane Austen, and I’m happy to report what I’ve been up since then.  I started my pursuit of Austen activities in January with Alamo Drafthouse’s Afternoon Tea: Sense and Sensibility.   After that, I joined the Jane Austen Society of North America (JASNA), and I’ve started to read Mansfield Park, which is JASNA’s focus in 2014.

    sandsteajasnanews

(Dirndl and Shoes from Modcloth; Hairstyle: Boho Crown Braid; Banquette from World Market )IMG_7188

In addition to all these things, I went to one of my regions first JASNA meetings, where we had a lecture on English Country Dancing, and were later joined by a group of dancers who taught us how to dance.  It was a lot of fun, and it made me excited to do some more costuming and start to learn some English Country Dance, so I could have a Lizzy and Darcy moment myself.

Leave a Reply

